Jump and the Net Will Appear

“Jump and the net will appear” is the title of a chapter of a book that I read about a year and a half ago, The Good Life Lab: Radical Experiments in Hands-On Living by Wendy Jehanara Tremayne. It pretty much catapulted me into my current lifestyle. It helped give me the courage to jump. That’s pretty much what I have been doing the last 18 months, a lot of jumping.

I have also learned that it’s true what they say. If you want something, speak it into existence. I spoke something into existence by accident. Alpacas. About 10 years ago, when my first two kids were very little, I came up with the idea that if we could just be alpaca farmers, everything would be alright. If you’re at all familiar with the fog of parenting new babies + toddlers, you may understand. Or any kind of parenting, really. Or sometimes just living. Well, anyway, somewhere I came up with this alpaca farming idea and so for 10 years I talked about it. And for about 9 of those, my husband thought I was down right crazy and my friends smiled politely, but I guess I just kept speaking this wild idea into existence, because, guess what???? I am now the proud owner of 3 lovely alpacas.

DSCF6519 (2)

Loki and her mom Lily. These two are inseparable and I can’t wait to look out my window and see them everyday.

 

The current joke now is “be careful that you actually want what you say you want, because it’s going to happen if you keep talking about it”.  I would also recommend doing a bit of actual research while doing the “speaking”. Of course a series of fortunate (pretending very hard to be unfortunate) events occurred in the 10 years. Also, my husband came around to my way of thinking….that following your heart will lead you to…following your heart. And it doesn’t mean all rainbows and lollipops are in store, but it means that your heart and your head can be one.

So as we were talking about what the next chapter in our lives entailed, we decided that it meant some jumping was in order and that alpacas had to be on the list. Truth is, I kind of tried to back out of the alpaca thing, shyly and selflessly attempting to give up my dream and you-know-who wouldn’t have it. He said “OH, NO, you’re getting alpacas. “We” (suddenly we) haven’t been talking about this for 10 years to wait. You’re getting your alpacas.” Plus they cost less to feed than a dog, or that’s the what the brochure says.

Here we are. Three alpacas richer. Our hearts beating with the energy of jumping. Will we have just the three as pets? Shearing them and spinning their fiber once a year? Will they support us one day as we develop an actual farm, breeding for high quality fiber and showing? Will people come from all over to visit my therapy alpacas, breathing deeply as they hum their calming greeting? Oh, I don’t know, but isn’t it exciting to know that when traveling the direction you need to, the net…appears. Because when the heart says “jump”, it’s time to jump.

Annabelle Rose

Annabelle Rose

Leave a Reply

