Eating well for Mother’s Day

IMG_1062IMG_1103

I just had to share with you what we ate on Mother’s day.

Everyone has their strengths and weaknesses, one of my husbands strengths happens to be cooking. It’s a match made in heaven since most of my mother’s days are centered around eating. Last year I had homemade maple bacon cinnamon rolls, the kind that takes hours to make, so there was a high bar set and I wasn’t sure it could be met on a grain free/refined sugar free diet, but I was very, very wrong!!

My day started out with this delight pictured above. Two waffles with cream cheese frosting in the middle (his unique creation sweetened with grade B maple syrup), topped with fresh whipped cream (sweetened with syrup) and strawberries. The recipe came from Against All Grain. Here it is…

3 eggs

1 cup raw cashews

1/3 C almond milk (or any dairy free milk) he used 1/2 and 1/2

3 tbsp. honey or maple syrup

3 tbsp. melted coconut oil

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. baking soda

3 tbsp. coconut flour

Combine the eggs, cashews, milk, honey or syrup, and coconut oil in the blender until very smooth and creamy.

Add the salt, soda, coconut flour and blend for about a  min.

This is a belgian waffle recipe, so I don’t know how it would work with a regular waffle iron. She recommends checking the waffles after about a minute as the grain free version cooks a bit quicker than normal.

What I loved about this recipe is that it was fluffy and flavorful without being overly eggy as I have experienced before. Also I ate about 2/3 of that plate and I didn’t feel bloated, overly full or icky and I didn’t experience the crash in blood sugar later in the day that made me feel light headed and nauseous. And I wasn’t hungry again for about 5 hours.

For my next meal I requested fresh grain free, gluten free pasta from Cappello’s. I wanted lasagna!!!! This is a special treat for me, because we rarely have it. One of the members of the family says lasagna is her “worst enemy” (I hope that remains always true).

My husband made a great sauce that was some eclectic combo. of organic tomato sauce, paste, onions, garlic, olives and white cheddar cheese. He then layered the pasta sheets with additional mozzarella cheese. It tasted as good as it looks and was a fabulous grain free treat.

I was so excited about how well I ate on Mother’s Day that I had to share, there are certain things that have to be given up forever like oreo’s, store bought donuts, delivery pizza, etc. But with some planning and researching it can be a full and satisfying culinary life.

Leave a Reply

